ICBA Press Release Banner 2020

National leadership positions formally elected at ICBA LIVE in March

Washington, D.C. (Jan. 12, 2023) — The Independent Community Bankers of America (ICBA) today announced the nominees to serve on its 2023-24 board of directors. ICBA’s current board will vote on the nominations during ICBA LIVE 2023—the largest gathering of community banks in the country, which is scheduled for March 12-16 in Honolulu, Hawaii.

“The nomination of these exceptional volunteer bankers to help lead ICBA will continue our founding mission of more than 90 years: creating and promoting an environment where community banks flourish,” ICBA President and CEO Rebeca Romero Rainey said. “We are excited to work with these talented leaders, who honor ICBA’s legacy by meeting the needs of local customers and communities every day.”

Nominations for the 2023-24 ICBA board of directors and their respective positions include:

  • Chairman: Derek B. Williams, president and CEO of Century Bank & Trust in Milledgeville, Ga.

  • Chairman-elect: Lucas White, president of The Fountain Trust Co. in Covington, Ind.

  • Vice Chairman: Jack E. Hopkins, president and CEO of CorTrust Bank in Sioux Falls, S.D.

  • ICBA President and CEO: Rebeca Romero Rainey of Washington, D.C.

  • Treasurer: Sarah Getzlaff, CEO of Security First Bank of North Dakota in Bismarck, N.D.

  • Secretary: James H. Sills, III, president and CEO of Mechanics and Farmers Bank in Durham, N.C.

  • Immediate Past Chairman: Brad M. Bolton, president and CEO of Community Spirit Bank in Red Bay, Ala.

  • Past Chairman: Robert M. Fisher, chairman, president and CEO of Tioga State Bank in Spencer, N.Y.

  • Past Chairman: Noah W. Wilcox, president, CEO and chairman of Grand Rapids State Bank and its holding company, Wilcox Bancshares Inc., in Grand Rapids, Minn.

  • At-large Director and Federal Delegate Board Representative: Brenda K. Foster, chairman, president and CEO of First Western Bank & Trust in Minot, N.D.

  • At-large Director and Federal Delegate Board Representative: John V. Evans, III, CEO of D.L. Evans Bank in Burley, Idaho.

  • At-large Director: Jill Sung, president and CEO of Abacus Federal Savings Bank in New York, N.Y.

  • At-large Director: Thomas E. Bates Jr., president and CEO of Legends Bank in Clarksville, Tenn.

  • Bank Education Committee Chairman: Anita Drentlaw, CEO, president and chief financial officer for New Market Bank in Elko New Market, Minn.

  • Bank Innovations & Solutions Committee Chairman: Michael J. Burke, Jr. president of ChoiceOne Bank in Lapeer, Mich.

  • Bank Operations Committee Chairman: Alice P. Frazier, president and CEO of Bank of Charles Town, W.Va.

  • ICBPAC Chairman: Shon B. Myers, president and CEO of Farmers & Merchants Bank in Miamisburg, Ohio

  • Policy Development Committee Chairman: Quentin Leighty, president and chief financial officer of First National Bank Colorado of Las Animas, Colo.

  • Rural America and Agriculture Committee Chairman: Verlin “Gus” J. Barker, president and CEO of First Community Bank in Newell, Iowa.

About ICBA

The Independent Community Bankers of America® creates and promotes an environment where community banks flourish. ICBA is dedicated exclusively to representing the interests of the community banking industry and its membership through effective advocacy, best-in-class education, and high-quality products and services.

With nearly 50,000 locations nationwide, community banks constitute roughly 99 percent of all banks, employ nearly 700,000 Americans and are the only physical banking presence in one in three U.S. counties. Holding more than $5.8 trillion in assets, over $4.8 trillion in deposits, and more than $3.5 trillion in loans to consumers, small businesses and the agricultural community, community banks channel local deposits into the Main Streets and neighborhoods they serve, spurring job creation, fostering innovation and fueling their customers’ dreams in communities throughout America. For more information, visit ICBA’s website at www.icba.org.

# # #